Home

Including ours at AdnKronos (yes, i have to mention the company I work for once a while)..

And so the strongman passed away…  24 days monitoring health flux of one of the country’s most love (and most hated) figures could make anyone grow sour. Look, I’m not a hater but I can’t say that I’m not at all fluster with things I read about Suharto. I can’t personally hate him, but I did take it personally when he put my grandaddy in for suspicion that he’s a red. For duck’s lucky fuck! Just becaus he looks (brown) chinese and one day police found him carrying a text book of chinese sayings with a small invitation flyer to ‘progressive minds’ meeting.

Yesterday was not a good day for me. I got a back pain thanks to a masseuse, who’s extremely willing to fix my stiff shoulder but ended up rellocating the pain and made me a weekend house prisoner! Adding pain to pain.. The media swamped us with details about Suharto’s death and funeral. I was hoping to see spongebob on every intermission.. but noooooooo.. I have to see tributes citing how much the country would miss Suharto, his iron mittens and charismatic (yet deadly) smiles..

Well.. Time’s up! (read between the lines, folks)  I’m off home soon and on my head I’m singing Jobim’s Chega de Saudade ( a famous elevator song) that goes like this:

Vai minha tristeza

E diz a ela

Que sem ela não pode ser

Diz-lhe numa prece

Que ela regresse

Porque eu não posso mais sofrer

Chega de saudade

A realidade

É que sem ela não há paz

Não há beleza

É só tristeza

E a melancolia

Que não sai de mim

Não sai de mim, não sai.

Mas se ela voltar, se ela voltar

Que coisa linda,

Que coisa louca

Pois há menos peixinhos a nadar no mar

Do que os beijinhos

Que eu darei na sua boca.

Dentro dos meus braços,

Os abraços

Hão de ser milhões de abraços

Apertado assim,

Colado assim,

Calado assim

Abraços e beijinhos

E carinhos sem ter fim

Que é pra acabar com esse negócio

De viver longe de mim

Não quero mais esse negócio

De você viver sem mim

Vamos deixar desse negócio

De você viver sem mim.
or in English:

Go on, my sadness

And tell her

That without her I can’t be

Tell her in a prayer

To come back to me

Because I can’t suffer anymore

Enough longing

The reality

Is that without her there’s no peace

There’s no beauty

It’s only sadness

And the melancholy

That won’t leave me

Won’t leave me, won’t leave.

But if she comes back, if she comes back

What a beautiful thing

What a crazy thing

Cause there are less fishes swimming in the sea

Than the little kisses

I will give to her mouth.

Inside my arms,

The hugs,

They will be a million hugs

Very fast like these,

All together like these,

All shut up like these

Hugs and little kisses

And endless caresses

That is for you to stop this thing

Of living away from me

I don’t want this thing anymore

Of you living without me

Let’s stop this thing

Of you living without me.

Leave a Reply

